Sign In

Interstate 77 – A comprehensive Guide

Interstate 77 – A comprehensive Guide

Interstate 77 begins at Cayce on the southeastern side of Columbia and follows the Southeastern Beltway to Fort Jackson and I-20 near Forest Acres. The interstate connects the eastern Great Lakes region with Appalachia and the Southeast.

Interstate 77 connects nearby states and is essential to the economy of North Carolina and it is a great way to get around the southeastern United States.

How long is I-77?

I-77 is 613.4 miles long. It runs north from Columbia, South Carolina to Cleveland, Ohio. I-77 connects five states: South Carolina, North Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia, and Ohio.

Where does I-77 end?

Interstate 77’s southern point is in Columbia, where it intersects with Interstate 26. The northern point is in Cleveland, Ohio, at the interchange with Interstate 90.

Map of I-77

When was I-77 started and completed?

I-77 was approved for two extensions: the first in 1964, which extended south from I-85 to US Route 74 (US 74), and the second in 1969, which extended to the South Carolina state line towards Columbia. In 1977, the Interstate was completed.

I-77 Major Cities

Some of the major towns along the I-77 route (from North to South) are as follows:


  • Marietta
  • Canton
  • Akron
  • Cleveland

West Virginia

  • Bluefield
  • Beckley
  • Charleston
  • Parkersburg


  • Fort Chiswell
  • Wytheville

North Carolina

  • Charlotte
  • Statesville
  • Elkin

South Carolina

  • Charleston
  • Columbia
  • Rock Hill

I-77 Rest Areas

Interstate 77 is a 613-mile road that connects Cleveland, Ohio, and Columbia, South Carolina.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *